Allocation of portfolios in Goa announced!

After close to a week of suspense, that would even make Alfred Hitchcock proud, the allocation of portfolios in Goa has been announced.

Manohar Parrikar was sworn in as the 28th Chief Minister of Goa on March 14. (Read the entire ItsGoa coverage here) 

Along with Manohar Parrikar, 9 other designated ministers had taken the oath as well. However, none of them were able to assume office as they were not assigned portfolios. The allocation of portfolios were earlier delayed as differences emerged over who should get what.


As a result, Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar began weighing the strengths and weakness of ministers before the allocation. Portfolios were earlier expected to be allotted on Thursday, March 16.

Who gets what under the allocation of portfolios in Goa ?

Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar

> Home, Finance, Mines, Vigilance, Transport, Personnel, General Administration.

 Francis D’Souza (BJP) (Mapusa)

> Urban Development

Pandurang Madkaikar (BJP) (Cumbarjua)

> Power

Sudin Dhavalikar (MGP) (Marciam)


Babu Azgaonkar (MGP) (Pernem)

> Tourism

 Vijai Sardessai (GFP) (Fatorda)

> Town & Country Planning

 Vinod Palyekar (GFP) (Siolim)

> Water Resources

 Jayesh Salgaonkar (GFP) (Saligao)

> Housing with Housing Board

Rohan Khaunte (Ind) (Porvorim)

> Revenue

 Govind Gawade (Ind) (Priol)

> Art & Culture

Several important portfolios are yet to be allocated

Agriculture, Animal Husbandary, Archives, Civil Supplies, Cooperation, Craftsman Training, Environment, Factories and Boilers, Fisheries, Ports, RDA, Forest, Handicrafts, Health, Industries, Labour & Employment, Law, Legal Metrology, Museum, Non-conventional Energy, NRI, Official Language, Panchayat, Printing & Stationary, Protocol, River Navigation, Science and Technology, Sports, Social Welfare, Tribal Welfare and Women & Child Development are yet to be allocated.

There is also room for at least two more MLAs in the State Cabinet…

Protem Speaker Sidharth Kuncalienkar (Panaji) is likely to be replaced by the BJP’s Sankli MLA Pramod Sawant, who will be nominated for the post of Speaker.

BJP MLAs – Rajesh Patnekar (Bicholim), Michael Lobo (Calangute), Glen Ticlo (Aldona), Pravin Zantye (Mayem), Nilesh Cabral (Curchorem), Milind Naik (Mormugao), Carlos Almeida (Vasco da Gama), Mauvin Godinho (Dabolim) and Alina Saldanha (Cortalim) of the BJP are all in the running for the two vacant posts.

MGP’s Deepak Pauskar (Savordem) and Independent Prasad Gaonkar (Sanguem) will be content as Chairmen during the course of the next five years.

Congress – epitome of more is less?

Despite being given a mandate of 17 seats, the State Congress party will sit in the Opposition during this Assembly term.

Another interesting outcome of the 2017 Goa elections is Quepem MLA Chandrakant ‘Babu’ Kavalekar has been selected as Leader of the Opposition.

Along with Babu, the Opposition will include:

Dayanand Sopte (Mandrem), Nilkant Halarnkar (Thivim), Jennifer Monserrate (Taleigao), Tony Fernandes (Santa Cruz), Francis Silveira  (St. Andre), Pratapsingh Rane (Poriem), Ravi Naik (Ponda), Shubash Shirodkar (Shiroda), Wilfred D’sa (Nuvem), Reginald Lourenco (Curtorim), Digamber Kamat (Margao), Luizinho Faleiro  (Navelim), Clafacio Dias (Cuncolim), Felipe Nery Rodrigues (Velim) and Isidore Fernandes (Canacona). All Congress MLAs.

Lone NCP MLA Churchill Alemao (Benaulim) is currently sitting on the fence after he voted in favour of the the Parrikar led State government, but has yet to give a letter of support.

What about Vishwajeet Rane aka Rane Jr?

Valpoi MLA Vishwajeet Rane who was elected on a Congress ticket resigned following the floor test. However, he will re-contest the seat most likely as an Independent and then extend support to the Parrikar-led State government.


Do you think we have the best person for each ministry? Write in and let us know your views!

Facebook Comments

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button